We are living through an epic era of stupidity and nonsense.

Tony Forcucci
7 min readAug 20, 2022
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

When I was growing up, normal, everyday people had a pretty good dose of both common sense and common knowledge. People could problem solve on the fly and called out stupidity when it was present.

Today we seem to be living in an era of almost deliberate ignorance and willful disregard to common sense and the ability to problem solve in-the-field without checking with authority.

I think 2–3 years of Covid insanity has also accelerated the level of stupidity in some of our fellow citizens.

Here are two completely incredible examples that happened to me first-hand, that if I hadn’t experienced it first-hand I would not have believed it.

Drive thru Covid testing at CVS

Over the summer I was in Miami with my family about to take a cruise. In order to get on the cruise a requirement was you had to test negative for Covid-19.

We went to a CVS location near Brickell and went through the drive in with 4 people in the car. Unfortunately we only had 3 appointments so one of the people in the car couldn’t take the test. Yes we asked if they could just hand us a 4th swab so we could just knock it out but the clerk on the other side of the drive thru window said that we would just have to come back the next…

--

--

Tony Forcucci

I share travel, business, and rational thought stories from experiencing a lot of the world up close. tonyforcucci.com