Evolution of the online business idea.

Tony Forcucci
7 min readNov 22, 2023

The work that goes into taking your idea from paper to reality.

Please note: This is part 2 of 6. You can read Part 1 here.

Photo by Trey Ratcliff of stuckincustoms.com

WHO”S GOING TO BUILD THIS?

In order to build the site, I needed to find people who could get it done. I was bootstrapping this so there was no budget per se. I had to be creative.

I interviewed 3 different web development companies. I showed them my idea and tried to get a sense of what their skill set was. All three had different price structures.

The site had to be totally custom. One company wanted $100,000 to build it. Another said they charged $5,000 per iteration and he estimated we’d need only 2 iterations to get it live.

Yeah right. I knew better from my own experience that it was going to be way more than 2 iterations.

One day I called a Colombian friend of mine named Andres who knew how to build things online, and he had top-notch design skills. We went to lunch. I showed him the idea and said I was looking for someone to help me build it out.

He said… “dude, I got the guy for you”.

--

--

Tony Forcucci

I share travel, business, and rational thought stories from experiencing a lot of the world up close. tonyforcucci.com